Dr. Joseph Salim Speaks at Conference on Peace Through Reconstruction

October 23, 2009


Introductory Remarks

  • Prof. Edmund S. Phelps, Director, Center on Capitalism and Society (CCS). McVickar Professor of Political Economy, Columbia University. Winner of 2006 Nobel Prize in Economics.
  • Prof. Jeffrey D. Sachs, Director, The Earth Institute, Columbia University. Special Advisor to the United Nations Secretary General on the Millennium Development Goals. Member, CCS.

Panel 1: Issues, Lessons and Policy Guidelines for Effective Reconstruction

  • Moderator: Amb. Richard Solomon, President, United States Institute of Peace.
  • Amb. John Negroponte, Research Fellow and Lecturer in International Affairs, MacMillan Center, Yale University. Former Deputy Secretary of State, Ambassador to the UN (2001-04) and to Iraq (2004-05).
  • Prof. Michael W. Doyle, Harold Brown Professor of International Affairs, Law and Political Science, Columbia University. Special Adviser to the UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan (2001-2003).
  • Mr. Richard Carey, Director, Development Co-ordination Directorate, OECD.
  • Amb. John E. Herbst, Coordinator for Reconstruction & Stabilization, Department of State.
  • Mr. Jordan D. Ryan, Assistant Administrator and Director, Bureau for Crisis Prevention and Recovery, UNDP.

Panel 2: A Change in Strategy for Economic Reconstruction in Afghanistan (Teatro, 2nd floor)

  • Moderator: Thomas R. Keene, CFA. Editor at Large, Bloomberg News. Host, Bloomberg Surveillance and Bloomberg on the Economy.
  • Dr. Graciana del Castillo, Senior Research Scholar and Associate Director, CCS, Columbia University. Author Rebuilding War-Torn States (Oxford, 2008).
  • Prof. M. Ishaq Nadiri, Jay Gould Professor of Economics and C.V. Starr Center for Applied Economics, New York University. Senior Economic Advisor to President Karzai (2005-2008).
  • Amb. Herman Schaper, Permanent Representative of the Netherlands to the United Nations. Former Ambassador to NATO.
  • Mr. Alastair McKechnie, Director, Fragile & Conflict-Affected Countries, World Bank.
  • Prof. William Easterly, Professor of Economics (Joint with Africa House), Co-Director, Development Research Institute, New York University.

Lunch Session

  • Introductory Remarks: Prof. Nicholas B. Dirks, Vice-President for the Arts and Sciences, Dean of the Faculty, and Franz Boas Professor of History and Anthropology, Columbia University.
  • Lunch Speaker: Amb. Alvaro de Soto, Senior Fellow, Ralph Bunche Institute. Associate Fellow, Geneva Centre for Security Policy. Member, Global Leadership Foundation. Former Under-Secretary General, United Nations.

Panel 3: Economic Strategies for War-Torn Countries

  • Moderator: Mr. Nduka Obaigbena, Editor-in-Chief and Chairman, THISDAY Newspapers Group, Nigeria.
  • Prof. Roger B. Myerson, The Glen A. Lloyd Distinguished Service Professor, The University of Chicago. Winner of 2007 Nobel Prize in Economics.
  • Dr. Raymond Gilpin, Associate Vice-President, Sustainable Economies, US Institute of Peace.
  • Prof. Susan L. Woodward, Professor of Political Science, The Graduate Center, City University of New York. Author of the Balkan Tragedy.
  • Dr. Michael Penfold, Associate Director, Public Policy and Competitiveness, CAF (“Corporación Andina de Fomento”). Former Tinker Professor, SIPA, Columbia University.
  • Prof. Tatiana Wah, Haitian Policy Program Development Policy Advisor, Earth Institute, Columbia University. Assistant Professor, New School University, Robert J. Milano Graduate School of Management and Urban Policy.

Panel 4: Aid, Investment and Community-based Approaches to Reconstruction in Africa

  • Moderator: Prof. Jeffrey D. Sachs, Director, The Earth Institute, Columbia University. Special Advisor to the United Nations Secretary General on the Millennium Development Goals. Member, CCS.
  • Prof. R. Glenn Hubbard, Dean and Russell L. Carson Professor of Finance and Economics. Member, CCS. Former Chairman, President’s Council on Economic Advisers. Author The Aid Trap (Columbia, 2009).
  • Dr. Sonia Ehrlich Sachs, Director of Health, Millennium Villages Project.
  • Dr. John W. McArthur, Chief Executive Officer, Millennium Promise. Research Associate, Earth Institute at Columbia University and Columbia’s School of International and Public Affairs.
  • Dr. David Hamburg, President Emeritus, Carnegie Corporation of New York. DeWitt Wallace Distinguished Scholar at Weill Cornell Medical College.
  • Prof. Glenn Denning, Professor of Professional Practice in International and Public Affairs, Associate Director, Center for Globalization and Sustainable Development, Earth Institute, Columbia University.

Closing Remarks:

  • Dr. Joseph Salim, Co-Founder and Executive Director, The Virtue Foundation
Skip to content